Reviews of In Between Lies

5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book..., February 18, 2012
5 of 5 stars
This review is from: In Between Lies (Paperback)

This book definitely spoke out to me on every level imaginable i.e., it's smooth in rhythm and style. Shawna has definitely gone up, over, and beyond the typical slush pile of self-published writers who want an honest attention. Not once have I felt that the book was more about plot than the elements of erotica (that's a pet peeve of mine, writing more about the sex than the plot itself, yucky). The character's voice through Savannah's internal conflicts can be heard from over a mile away and the best part is that I can always relate to her. Who hasn't had girl trouble? The best part about this book is that I can also relate to the area of Chicago because I just visited the place a few months back. Amazing!

The Good:

Unlike your average `Indie' author, Shawna has achieved an excellent opening by not using the entire paragraph as a weather report. Time after time, I constantly find authors trying to woo my interests by telling me about the weather, can anyone say boring? Not so with Shawna, she tosses a morning workout and mixes this with the weather outside in the most subtle fashion and that's a plus. Secondly, the character introduction is gradual to some extent i.e., there are no overwhelming feelings of trying to know the who's who at first through the first couple of pages. It really revolves only the four main characters of Savannah, Dre, Styles, and Jasmine.

The Really Good:

Like I said earlier about sexuality, I like that it's not the entire focus of the book. Relationships between the sexes are great, especially the funny analogies that come from the thoughts of a woman and what exactly runs through their minds. However, there are always the complications that result directly from it. I can definitely relate to some of the tensions whenever I pursue relationships, especially when it comes to wanting to get married. I strongly feel that fidelity is one of the major themes that Shawna deals with throughout her entire book. Well done.

5.0 out of 5 stars In Between the Lines, January 9, 2012
5 of 5 stars
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Between Lies (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put the book down it was wonderful story line....kept you turning the page and wanting more...was so glad there was a 2nd book!

Ms. Tiptress's of Passion Reads on  5/14/11

5 of 5 stars
status: Read in May, 2011

From start to finish I swam through deep rivers of lies, and revengeful love. I was complety surprised by the webs of mass destruction that were weaved in and out of this story. Her story is filled with different attitudes and characters. It was so diverse but yet keeping it so real. I had two favorite characters in this story, Naomi and Jasmine. Ah I absolutely love Jasmine’s quick witted attitude with just the right amount of “hood” to her that made it sexy. And Noami, um um um, that thing is so sexy. Its crazy, I think this is the first time that I actually had a crush on a character from a book.. But she is a force to be reckoned with.. Approach with extreme caution… This was truly a fun and exciting read. I could not put it down.

Literary Marie of Precision Reviews on 5/14/11

This is the debut novel to a drama-filled, erotic romance series. Author Shawna Hill's writing style is easy to follow. Despite my sensitive eye to mechanical errors in the text, I was still lost in the realistic story line. In Between Lies is not your typical romance. The scenes are just as hot as the cover portrays. Twists in the plot, fatal attraction moments, and a jaw-dropping cliffhanger clearly separates it from the rest in its genre. Thank goodness I had the sequel readily available to continue the story. 

Check back here next Sunday for the review of the sequel. And a huge thank you to the author, Shawna Hill, for reaching out to me. Otherwise, I may not have discovered this good, steamy series.

Title: In Between Lies
Author: Shawna Hill
Published: June 2009
Pages: 113
Edition: eBook
Rating: ♥

Shawna Hill asked me if I would review her books, and I am so glad she did!  Have you ever read her books before?  If you haven't, you really should!  If she hadn't contacted me, I would have really missed out on reading her awesome work!

Savannah and Kevin seemed so right for each other.  There was just a feeling that Savannah had though that kept coming up. She just felt like something wasn't quite right.  She wasn't the only one that saw it either, but she wanted to make things work.  Yeah...about Kevin....he had someone from his past try to get back with him--Naomi.  He just couldn't decide between Savannah (the good girl) or Naomi (the freak).  He wanted both of them, but finally he made his decision. The woman he let go wasn't going to let go so easy though.   

Kevin made me so mad sometimes.  I just wanted to tell him to stop with all of the women.  Just settle down with one and be happy.  When you are reading a book like this you just want to tell the characters, come on, don't you see what is going on.  Naomi...I don't even want to talk about her.  You have to read the book to see for yourself who she is!

I highly recommend this book!  I was just so impressed by this first book from Shawna Hill!  I can definitely say that it was a page turner and kept my interest thoughout the whole book. You will not be bored at all when you read this! At the end though I was like what, that's the end!  It definitely left me on the edge of my seat and ready to get started on the next book Intimate Illusions, which I will be reviewing tomorrow!  

  My Rating: 5/5 diamonds
Loved it and recommend!

I will also be interviewing Shawna Hill, so check back for that!

Get in between these pages...raw score 4.5,
5.0 out of 5 starsAugust 29, 2009
In Between Lies
Shawna Hill
Rating: 4.5

Savannah has a hard time trusting men. When she finally learns to trust someone a woman from his past decides that she is not letting him go. What happens when Naomi (the ex) decides that she will do anything to everything to get her man back?

This book was very good. I read it in a few days! My favorite part is when Naomi starts going crazy when she realizes Kevin doesn’t want to be with her. She blows his house up, cuts up Richard and tries to physically harm Savannah. The drama seems to be unending in this book which will have you stuck to the pages.

The only thing I would suggest to be corrected in future printings is the grammar and spelling errors. Other than that the book was wonderful.

Reviewed by:

4.0 out of 5 stars AAMBC Book Reviews, September 7, 2009
By African Americans on the Move Book Club (San Antonio, USA) - 

In Between Lies was a awesome beginning for Shawna Hill. You may think this book resembles a typical love story but what Mrs. Hill brings to the table is more twist and turns your body can handle. Your sense of style is expressed in between the lines as she writes on two characters that suddenly fall for each other after agreeing to be platonic. Even though their love seems to flow harder then expected they press forward to try to stay together. Despite a unstable women who turns out to be more then just a simple crush. When she tries to knock everyone down in the process of obtaining her love you wonder how in the world will all this drama end? You got to read this.

Tamika newhouse
AAMBC Reviewer

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut Novel, November 16, 2009
By Rachel Berry (Virginia, USA) -
Ms. Hill caught my attention on the first page of this novel. I felt like she created characters I could hear and see. The interaction between Savannah and her side-kick Jazzy brought true conversations to the page between girlfriends who are the opposite of each other. I enjoyed Savannah's cautious yet human personality. Jazzy was an "off-the-chain" chick that was free to be, yet wanting to be loved; and I believe a little scared to admit it. Kevin is a guy typical like a lot of men who has a wonderful job, plans for his future, a black-book full of women, a rep to protect but really also yearns for the real thing within his soft side. Enter the crazy sistah who also has an agenda and wants what she wants by any means necessary. How many of us can deny that on some level we haven't been there? Hopefully not going to Naomi's extremes - but we at least heard of this type of feline before.

Shawna brings great drama, smooth romance and real sistah-girl feelings to this story. I'm glad I read it and recommend it as a good read. Looking forward to the sequel.

Author & Poet Rachel Berry
Family Pictures